Early Years

Learning and Development

Teachers and assistants of learning implement the seven areas of learning (Prime & Specific) and Characteristics of Effective Learning across the daily routine.

The Seven areas of Learning:


  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development


  • Literacy
  • Mathematical
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Art and Design

Characteristics of Effective learning

  • Playing and exploring
  • Active learning
  • Creating and thinking critically

Activities are planned from the children’s interests. Parents are informed in what the theme or topic will be and how you can support at home. Each child will have an individual Pupil Profile which records their progress through the Early Years Curriculum.

For more information see the 4Children Parent Guide, supported by the DfE that we have uploaded.


Headteacher: Rachel Gallagher
Address: Clarendon Road, Eccles, Manchester, M30 9BJ
Telephone: 0161 921 1170 | Email: clarendonroad.primaryschool@salford.gov.uk

© Copyright Clarendon Road Primary School 2019. All Rights Reserved.